Best-of list · rule printed

Fly Fishing Gear for Trout

Fly fishing gear for trout is three things that have to agree with each other: a rod in the 6-weight-or-lighter range, a reel sized for the same line weight, and, if you wade cold water, breathable waders. This page lists the Amazon US items that meet a written rule: trout rods named as such by their maker, reels for 3- to 6-weight lines, and breathable waders made for fly fishing. To keep one brand or one kind of gear from filling the page, the list takes at most two items per brand and seven per gear type. At our last check (October 2026) it held 20 items from 12 brands: seven rods, seven reels and six pairs of waders. Nothing here is tested by us. The rule builds the list, and the verdicts under the table say who each item suits and who should skip it.

How this list is builtTrout rods named as such by their maker (6-weight or lighter), reels for 3- to 6-weight lines, and breathable waders made for fly fishing.

We earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no cost to you. Disclosure

Fly rods

Line weight7 models
Fly rods
ModelLine weightLength · piecesActionWaterWarrantyAmazon
Cortland Competition MKII Nymph 10.5 FT / 3 WTFly rod
More specs
Blank material
Graphitemaker
Rod type
Euro nymphmaker
Built for
Troutmaker
Reel seat
Downward-locking reel seatmaker
Fighting butt
Yesmaker
3 wt10'6" · 4 pc—Freshwatermaker—See it on Amazon
Cortland Competition MKII Nymph 11 FT / 3 WTFly rod
More specs
Blank material
Graphitemaker
Rod type
Euro nymphmaker
Built for
Troutmaker
Reel seat
Downward-locking reel seatmaker
Fighting butt
Yesmaker
3 wt11'0" · 4 pc—Freshwatermaker—See it on Amazon
Creative Angler Catalyst 8'6" 4wtFly rod
More specs
Blank material
Graphitelisting
Rod type
Single-handlisting
Built for
Trout, bass or other specieslisting
Handle material
Corklisting
4 wt8'6" · 4 pc———See it on Amazon
Creative Angler Catalyst 9' 5wtFly rod
More specs
Blank material
Graphitelisting
Rod type
Single-handlisting
Built for
Trout, panfish, bass and similar specieslisting
5 wt9'0" · — pc—Freshwaterlisting—See it on Amazon
Fiblink 7'6" 3/4wtFly rod
More specs
Blank material
Graphitelisting
Rod type
Single-handlisting
Built for
trout, pond fish, crappie, bass, perch, pike, salmonlisting
Handle material
Corklisting
Reel seat
aluminum, dual locking ringslisting
3–4 wt7'6" · 4 pcMedium-fastlisting——See it on Amazon
Fiblink 9' 5/6wtFly rod
More specs
Blank material
Graphitelisting
Rod type
Single-handlisting
Built for
trout, pond fish, crappie, bass, perch, pike, salmonlisting
Handle material
Corklisting
Reel seat
aluminum, dual locking ringslisting
5–6 wt9'0" · 4 pcMedium-fastlisting——See it on Amazon
Hardy Aydon Single Handed 10' 4 wtFly rod
More specs
Blank material
Graphitemaker
Rod type
Single-handmaker
Built for
Troutmaker
Reel seat
Custom designed lightweight reel seat; selected wood or aluminium spacers, model dependentmaker
Case / tube included
Hard tubemaker
4 wt10'0" · — pcMedium-fastmaker—Lifetime repair/replacement of damaged sections for registered rods (registration within 60 days; per-claim fee applies)makerSee it on Amazon

Fly reels

Line weight7 models
Fly reels
ModelLine weightArborDragReel weightWaterWarrantyAmazon
Aventik Automatic Fly Reel Black IIFly reel
More specs
Material
Compositemaker
Capacity
2-4wt line + 25 m / 20 lb backingmaker
Diameter
2.99 inmaker
2–4 wtLargemakerAutomaticmaker4.52 ozmakerFreshwatermaker—See it on Amazon
Aventik FLK 3/5Fly reel
More specs
Material
Aluminummaker
Retrieve
Convertiblemaker
3–5 wtLargemakerDiscmaker—Freshwatermaker—See it on Amazon
Daiwa Lochmor-A LM200AFly reel
More specs
Material
Aluminumlisting
4–6 wtLargelistingClick & pawllisting———See it on Amazon
Daiwa Rochhommore A 100AFly reel
More specs
Construction
Castlisting
Material
Aluminumlisting
Capacity
DT2F+22 / DT3F+11 / WF3F+22 / WF4F+11 with 20 lb backing (yd)listing
2–4 wtMidlistingClick & pawllisting4.2 ozlisting——See it on Amazon
Echo Base 2/3Fly reel
More specs
Construction
Compositemaker
Material
Compositemaker
Capacity
WF3+75/20maker
Diameter
3 inmaker
Retrieve
Convertiblemaker
2–3 wt—Discmaker4.7 ozmaker—1 year from purchase (manufacturing defects only)makerSee it on Amazon
Echo Base 4/5Fly reel
More specs
Construction
Compositemaker
Material
Compositemaker
Capacity
WF5+100/20maker
Diameter
3.5 inmaker
Retrieve
Convertiblemaker
4–5 wt—Discmaker5.1 ozmaker—1 year from purchase (manufacturing defects only)makerSee it on Amazon
Galvan Brookie B 2-3Fly reel
More specs
Construction
Machinedmaker
Material
Aluminummaker
Capacity
WF-2-F + 40 yd / WF-3-F + 30 yd (20 lb micron backing)maker
Diameter
2.95 inmaker
2–3 wtLargemakerClick & pawlmaker2.72 ozmaker—Lifetime (original owner; parts and workmanship under normal use; purchased from an authorized dealer with registration or proof of purchase)makerSee it on Amazon

Waders

6 models
Waders
ModelHeightFootFitWarrantyAmazon
Bassdash Flex Nylon Breathable Chest Wader - Stocking FootWaders
More specs
Material type
Breathablelisting
Fabric layers
3 layersclaimed
Waterproof rating
15,000 mmclaimed
Breathability
5,000 g/m²/24hclaimed
Gravel guards
Yeslisting
Built for
Fly fishinglisting
Sizes offered
Small Stocking Foot 7-8, Medium Stocking Foot 8-9, Medium Stocking Foot 9-10, Large Stocking Foot 9-10, Large Stocking Foot 10-11, X-Large Stocking Foot 10-11, X-Large Stocking Foot 11-12, 2X-Large Stocking Foot 11-12, 2X-Large Stocking Foot 12-13maker
Smallest size
Smaker
Largest size
2XLmaker
ChestlistingStockingfootlistingMen'slisting—See it on Amazon
Bassdash FW08 Breathable Chest Wader - Stocking FootWaders
More specs
Material type
Breathablelisting
Stockingfoot neoprene
4.2 mmlisting
Gravel guards
Yeslisting
Built for
Fly fishinglisting
Sizes offered
Small Stocking Foot 7-8, Medium Stocking Foot 8-9, Medium Stocking Foot 9-10, Large Stocking Foot 9-10, Large Stocking Foot 10-11, X-Large Stocking Foot 10-11, X-Large Stocking Foot 11-12, 2X-Large Stocking Foot 11-12, 2X-Large Stocking Foot 12-13maker
Smallest size
Smaker
Largest size
2XLmaker
ChestlistingStockingfootlistingMen'slisting—See it on Amazon
Compass 360 Deadfall STFT WaderWaders
More specs
Material type
Breathablemaker
Membrane
PTFEclaimed
Fabric layers
4 layersclaimed
Stockingfoot neoprene
4 mmlisting
Gravel guards
Yesmaker
Built for
Fly fishinglisting
Reinforced knees/shins
Yesmaker
Sizes offered
SM, MD, LG, XL, 2XL, MD STOUT, LG STOUT, XL STOUT, 2XL STOUTmaker
Fit variants
Regular, Stoutmaker
Smallest size
Smaker
Largest size
2XLmaker
ChestlistingStockingfootmakerMen'smaker1 yearmakerSee it on Amazon
Orvis Kids' Clearwater WadersWaders
More specs
Material type
Breathablemaker
Membrane
Polyurethaneclaimed
Fabric layers
4 layersclaimed
Waterproof rating
30,000 mmclaimed
Breathability
8,000 g/m²/24hclaimed
Gravel guards
Yesmaker
Built for
Fly fishinglisting
Sizes offered
Small, Medium, Largemaker
Smallest size
Smaker
Largest size
Lmaker
Chest / waistmaker—Kidsmaker—See it on Amazon
Orvis Men's Clearwater WadersWaders
More specs
Material type
Breathablemaker
Membrane
Polyurethaneclaimed
Fabric layers
4 layersclaimed
Waterproof rating
30,000 mmclaimed
Breathability
8,000 g/m²/24hclaimed
Gravel guards
Yesmaker
Built for
Fly fishinglisting
Sizes offered
S, M, L, XL, XXL; fit types: Short, Regular, Long, X Long, Kingmaker
Fit variants
Short, Regular, Long, Extra long, Kingmaker
Smallest size
Smaker
Largest size
2XLmaker
Chest / waistmaker—Men'smaker—See it on Amazon
Paramount Outdoors Meridian Breathable Stockingfoot Chest WaderWaders
More specs
Material type
Breathablemaker
Fabric layers
4 layersclaimed
Stockingfoot neoprene
4 mmmaker
Gravel guards
Yesmaker
Built for
Fly fishingmaker
Sizes offered
SM, MD, LG, XL, 2X, 3Xmaker
Smallest size
Smaker
Largest size
3XLmaker
ChestmakerStockingfootmaker—1 year (defects in materials and workmanship)makerSee it on Amazon

Notes on each pick

Aventik Automatic Fly Reel Black II

Good day on the water for

2- to 4-weight rods where you want a large-arbor automatic reel, with a composite body, 4.52 oz and a 2.99 in diameter per the maker.

Leave it on the shelf if

you want a disc drag or you fish a 5-weight or heavier, since the line range stops at 4.

See it on Amazon

Aventik FLK 3/5

Good day on the water for

a 3- to 5-weight rod where you want an aluminum, large-arbor reel with a disc-style drag and a convertible retrieve.

Leave it on the shelf if

you want the 3/5 range confirmed by the maker, since the line range here comes from the Amazon listing.

See it on Amazon

Bassdash Flex Nylon Breathable Chest Wader - Stocking Foot

Good day on the water for

wading a stream in a breathable, stockingfoot chest wader with gravel guards, three layers and ratings of 15,000 mm waterproof and 5,000 g breathability, which are the maker's own numbers with no independent test named.

Leave it on the shelf if

you want a bootfoot wader or a stated warranty, since our data lists none.

Sizing note

sizes run Small to 2XL, each paired with a stockingfoot size range such as 8-9 or 10-11; use Bassdash's size chart, and buyer fit feedback is not summarized here.

See it on Amazon

Bassdash FW08 Breathable Chest Wader - Stocking Foot

Good day on the water for

a lighter-feeling stockingfoot chest wader whose listing names a 4.2 mm neoprene bootie and gravel guards, aimed at fly fishing.

Leave it on the shelf if

you want the layer count or a waterproof rating, since neither is confirmed in our data.

Sizing note

the same Small to 2XL grid with paired stockingfoot ranges; check Bassdash's size chart, and buyer fit feedback is not summarized here.

See it on Amazon

Compass 360 Deadfall STFT Wader

Good day on the water for

a stockingfoot chest wader with four layers, a PTFE membrane, reinforced knees, gravel guards and a 4 mm neoprene bootie, with a 1-year warranty.

Leave it on the shelf if

you want a stated waterproof rating, since our data has none.

Sizing note

sizes Small to 2XL, with regular and stout fits; check the maker's chart, and buyer fit feedback is not summarized here.

See it on Amazon

Cortland Competition MKII Nymph 10.5 FT / 3 WT

Good day on the water for

euro nymphing for trout, since the maker names a 10 ft 6 in, four-piece graphite 3-weight with a downward-locking reel seat and a fighting butt.

Leave it on the shelf if

you want a general dry-fly rod; this is a specialist rod. The line weight, length and pieces come from the Amazon listing.

See it on Amazon

Cortland Competition MKII Nymph 11 FT / 3 WT

Good day on the water for

euro nymphing on bigger water, with an 11 ft, four-piece graphite 3-weight named for trout by the maker.

Leave it on the shelf if

you fish tight, brushy banks, where eleven feet gets caught. The line weight, length and pieces come from the Amazon listing.

See it on Amazon

Creative Angler Catalyst 8'6" 4wt

Good day on the water for

a 4-weight, 8 ft 6 in, four-piece graphite rod that the listing names for trout, bass and similar species.

Leave it on the shelf if

you want any value confirmed by a maker; every spec here comes from the Amazon listing, and our data shows no warranty.

See it on Amazon

Creative Angler Catalyst 9' 5wt

Good day on the water for

a general 9 ft, 5-weight graphite rod that the listing names for trout, panfish and bass, a middle choice for streams and small rivers.

Leave it on the shelf if

you want maker-confirmed specs or a stated piece count; the numbers come from the Amazon listing, and our data shows no warranty.

See it on Amazon

Daiwa Lochmor-A LM200A

Good day on the water for

a 4- to 6-weight rod where the listing describes a large-arbor, click-and-pawl reel.

Leave it on the shelf if

you want specs from the maker, since the line range, arbor and drag type all come from the Amazon listing.

See it on Amazon

Daiwa Rochhommore A 100A

Good day on the water for

a 2- to 4-weight rod where the listing gives a mid arbor, a click-and-pawl drag and a weight of 4.2 oz.

Leave it on the shelf if

you want a large arbor or maker-confirmed numbers, since all of these values come from the listing.

See it on Amazon

Echo Base 2/3

Good day on the water for

a 2/3-weight rod on small water, with a disc drag at 4.7 oz per the maker and a 1-year warranty against manufacturing defects.

Leave it on the shelf if

you want the lightest reel; the 2 to 3 range is from the listing and the arbor is not stated.

See it on Amazon

Echo Base 4/5

Good day on the water for

a 4/5-weight trout rod where you want a disc drag at 5.1 oz, with a 1-year warranty against manufacturing defects.

Leave it on the shelf if

you want a stated arbor size or a confirmed line range; the 4 to 5 range comes from the listing.

See it on Amazon

Fiblink 7'6" 3/4wt

Good day on the water for

a short 7 ft 6 in, four-piece graphite rod for small creeks and ponds, listed for trout and several other species.

Leave it on the shelf if

you want maker-confirmed specs; every value, including the 3 weight rating and medium-fast action, comes from the Amazon listing.

See it on Amazon

Fiblink 9' 5/6wt

Good day on the water for

a 9 ft, four-piece graphite rod listed as a medium-fast 5/6-weight, for streams and ponds with some room to cast.

Leave it on the shelf if

you want specs from the maker or a stated warranty; everything here comes from the listing.

See it on Amazon

Galvan Brookie B 2-3

Good day on the water for

a 2 or 3 weight rod on small water, with a large arbor, a click-and-pawl drag and a weight of 2.72 oz per the maker.

Leave it on the shelf if

you expect to put hard pressure on a fish. The warranty is lifetime for the original owner, with proof-of-purchase conditions.

See it on Amazon

Hardy Aydon Single Handed 10' 4 wt

Good day on the water for

a 10 ft, 4-weight, medium-fast graphite rod that the maker names for trout, with a hard tube.

Leave it on the shelf if

you fish tight, overgrown banks where ten feet is long. The warranty is lifetime repair or replacement of damaged sections for registered rods, with a registration deadline and a per-claim fee.

See it on Amazon

Orvis Kids' Clearwater Waders

Good day on the water for

a young angler on shallow, gentle water with a breathable, four-layer wader that converts between chest and waist height, with gravel guards and the maker's 30,000 mm waterproof and 8,000 g breathability ratings, which are claims.

Leave it on the shelf if

you need a stockingfoot-versus-bootfoot detail; our data does not state the foot type.

Sizing note

sizes Small to Large; use Orvis's chart, and a child should wade only with an adult.

See it on Amazon

Orvis Men's Clearwater Waders

Good day on the water for

a convertible chest-or-waist wader with four layers, a polyurethane membrane, gravel guards and the maker's 30,000 mm waterproof and 8,000 g breathability ratings, which are claims.

Leave it on the shelf if

you want the foot type or a warranty confirmed; neither is in our data.

Sizing note

Small to 2XL with short, regular, long, extra long and king fits; check Orvis's chart.

See it on Amazon

What this list is, and the rule behind it

"Gear for trout" can mean anything from a pocket full of flies to a drift boat. This page narrows it to the three items that have to be chosen together: the rod, the reel and, if you wade, the waders. I'm not going to tell you what the best rod for trout is, because nobody can without knowing your water, and because we do not test gear.

What I can do is apply a written rule to published data and show you the rule. Here it is: trout rods named as such by their maker (6-weight or lighter), reels for 3- to 6-weight lines, and breathable waders made for fly fishing. I chose those three because they are the parts of the outfit where a mismatch costs you most. A rod and a reel that do not agree on line weight cast badly. Waders that are not made for walking a stream can wear you out before the fish do.

On top of that, the list is spread out: no more than two items per brand and no more than seven per gear type. Without that limit, one brand with a long catalog would fill the page. With it, you see several makers and all three kinds of gear. The cost is that an item can meet the rule and still miss the page because its brand or its gear type is already full.

At our last check (October 2026) the rule gave 20 items: seven rods, seven reels and six pairs of waders, from 12 brands. It leaves out a lot of gear that may be fine, because the maker or the listing says too little to match the rule, so a missing brand is not a verdict. Items enter and leave the list as availability changes each week, and the counts can shift.

Who is on the list

Twelve brands, which is the first thing to notice. On the rod side: Cortland (two euro nymph rods), Creative Angler (two), Fiblink (two) and Hardy (one). On the reel side: Aventik, Daiwa and Echo with two each, and Galvan with one. On the wader side: Bassdash and Orvis with two each, plus Compass 360 and Paramount with one each. That is a statement about which items meet this rule at this moment, not about the rest of the market. If you want a wider field, the trout fly rods and trout reels pages apply broader rules, and the best fly fishing waders page covers more wader brands.

How to read the table

Each value in the table carries a small mark. Maker means the manufacturer's own page states it. Claimed marks a manufacturer's claim with no independent test or standard named, which is how the waterproof and breathability numbers appear. Listing means it comes from the Amazon listing and the maker's page does not confirm it. — means not confirmed anywhere, and we do not guess.

Listing marks are common here. The Creative Angler and Fiblink rods have no maker page in our data, so every value on them comes from the Amazon listing, and the same goes for the Daiwa reels. I would treat those values as pointers, not promises. Before you buy a rod or reel, open the product page and read the line weight yourself.

The rods: line weight, length, action

All seven rods are graphite and four-piece where the piece count is stated, and the list runs from 3-weight to 5/6-weight. That is a narrow band, and the choice comes down to line weight, length and style.

Line weight is the number that has to match the reel and the line. The two Cortland Competition MKII rods and the Fiblink 7 ft 6 in are 3-weights (the Fiblink is sold as a 3/4), the Creative Angler 8 ft 6 in and the Hardy Aydon are 4-weights, and the Creative Angler 9 ft and the Fiblink 9 ft are 5-weights (the Fiblink is sold as a 5/6). Lower numbers cast lighter lines and land small flies more quietly. Higher numbers handle wind and larger flies better. My view, and it is only my view, is that you should buy for the water you fish most, not the fish you hope to meet. A 5-weight is a hedge between a small stream and a big river, which makes it a fair first rod and a compromise everywhere. Our guide to what weight fly rod to use for trout goes through the trade-offs, and the 3-weight and 5-weight pages list more rods.

Length is the second decision. The data runs from 7 ft 6 in to 11 ft. Shorter rods suit brushy water where a long rod gets caught in every branch. Longer rods give you more reach for mending line and keeping it off the water. Our fly rod length guide explains the trade.

Style. The two Cortland rods are euro nymph rods, long and light, built for fishing weighted flies close in on a short line. They are good at that and awkward as a first dry-fly rod. The Hardy and the Creative Angler and Fiblink rods are single-hand rods in the usual sense. Our euro nymphing page explains the style.

Warranty. Hardy states a lifetime repair or replacement of damaged sections for registered rods, with a registration deadline and a per-claim fee. The others show nothing in our data. Read the exact wording on the maker's page before you count on a warranty, and keep your proof of purchase.

The reels: match the line, then check the drag

A fly reel mostly holds line and gives you a drag, which is the brake that lets a fish run without snapping the tippet. On trout water you rarely need a lot of drag, so the main job is matching the reel to the line weight of your rod.

Gary bought a 3-weight rod and a 7-weight reel because the box said "fits most rods." The two have not spoken since.

The seven reels come in four families. The Aventik FLK is aluminum with a large arbor and a disc-style drag. The Echo Base reels list a disc drag. The Daiwa reels list a click-and-pawl drag, and so does the Galvan Brookie, a machined aluminum reel with a large arbor. The Aventik Automatic Black II is a different design altogether. A large arbor is a wider spool core, which means line comes off in larger loops and is taken up faster per turn of the handle. A click-and-pawl drag is a simple mechanical brake, light and with few parts to fail. Those are the makers' and the listings' descriptions.

An automatic reel is a different animal. It typically draws line in with a spring when you work a lever, and the maker lists the Automatic Black II for 2- to 4-weight lines. If you are curious, our page on automatic fly reels explains how they differ. If you want a standard reel, pick one of the others.

Look at the line range first. The Aventik FLK is 3/5, the Daiwa Lochmor-A 4 to 6, the Daiwa Rochhommore and the Automatic Black II 2 to 4, the Echo Base reels 2/3 and 4/5, and the Galvan Brookie 2-3. Where the table shows a listing mark, that range is the Amazon page's word. Reel weights run from 2.72 oz (the Brookie) to 5.1 oz (the Base 4/5) where known.

The waders: breathable, made for walking

Six pairs, and they are not all alike. The two Bassdash pairs and the Compass 360 Deadfall are stockingfoot chest waders, which end in a neoprene bootie so you buy wading boots to wear over it. That is the common setup for fly fishing because it gives you a boot that fits your foot and grips the bottom. The Paramount Emerger is a stockingfoot hip wader, which stops at the hip and is for shallow water. The two Orvis Clearwater pairs are convertible, meaning they can be worn at chest or waist height, and our data does not state the foot type. A bootfoot wader, with the boot attached, is simpler but heavier, and we cover it on the bootfoot waders page. Our stockingfoot waders page explains the other side.

The numbers need care. The Bassdash Flex Nylon lists three layers and ratings of 15,000 mm waterproof and 5,000 g breathability, and the Orvis pairs list 30,000 mm and 8,000 g. Those are the makers' numbers, and no independent standard is named, so I read them as claims. The Compass 360 lists four layers and a PTFE membrane. The Bassdash FW08 gives a 4.2 mm neoprene bootie from the listing and no layer count. Compass 360 and Paramount state one-year warranties; the others state none in our data.

Sizing differs by maker. Bassdash fits by body size plus a boot-size range, so you pick two things: Small to 2XL for the body and a stockingfoot range such as 8-9 for the bootie. Orvis offers short, regular, long, extra long and king fits on the men's pair, and Compass 360 offers regular and stout. Use Bassdash's size chart or the maker's chart for the exact model, and read our wader size chart guide for how to measure. Do not buy a pair that fits only if everything goes right. Seams work against you when the waders are tight, and The Seam has plans for any pair bought a size too small.

Choosing between them

Start with the water. A small, brushy creek points to the short, light end of the rod list. A larger river with wind points to a longer rod and a 5-weight line. If you fish both, a 5-weight is the compromise.

Then pick the reel to match the rod, not the other way round. Write the rod's line weight on a card and carry it into the reel search. A 3-weight works with the Aventik FLK 3/5, the Galvan Brookie 2-3, the Echo Base 2/3 and the Daiwa and Automatic 2 to 4 reels. A 4-weight adds the Daiwa Lochmor-A and the Echo Base 4/5. A 5-weight points at the FLK, the Lochmor-A and the Base 4/5.

Decide on the waders by season. Cold water and long days favor waders. Warm weather may not. If you wet wade, you need wading shoes, not waders, and our wet wading guide covers it.

Mind the weight of what you carry. Heavier waders and a heavier rod add up on a long walk to a pool. Compare the weights where the data lists them. Our data holds a rod weight for none of these seven, and the reel weights are mostly from the listing, so they are a rough guide.

What this list cannot tell you

The rule tells you what a maker or listing says. It cannot tell you how a rod casts, how a reel's drag feels, or how long a pair of waders holds up. Those need time on the water, which we do not claim. Buyer reviews on Amazon speak to those things, but I have not summarized them here, and I would not turn them into scores. The verdicts report specs only.

Everything else on the trout list

Rod, reel and waders do not make an outfit. You also need a fly line matched to the rod weight, backing if the reel is not preloaded, a leader and flies. A fly fishing vest or pack holds the small things. If you want to buy one box instead, the starter kits page lists kits by rule. For the fishing itself, the trout fly fishing guide is the place to start.

Safety if you wade

Wear a snug wading belt over chest waders, so that if you fall the waders do not fill. Carry a wading staff in current you do not know. Never wade water you cannot see the bottom of, and check the flow before you go in. A life jacket is a sensible addition on bigger, colder rivers. Children should wade only with an adult beside them, in slow, shallow water.

Brands in this table

Related

Questions people ask

What fly fishing gear do I need for trout?

A rod, a reel, a fly line, backing and a leader are the core set, and flies. If you wade, add waders, wading boots and a wading belt. This page covers the rod, reel and wader parts of the set. The line and leader are separate purchases unless the reel or kit says otherwise.

What size fly rod is best for trout?

There is no single size, and this page does not name one. The rods on it run from a 3-weight to a 5/6-weight. Lighter rods suit small, tight water and small fish, and heavier ones help with wind, bigger rivers and larger flies. Our guide to what weight fly rod to use for trout walks through the trade-offs.

What reel do I need for a 5-weight trout rod?

A reel built for a 5-weight line. On this page the reels whose range includes 5 are the Aventik FLK 3/5, the Daiwa Lochmor-A (4 to 6) and the Echo Base 4/5. Their line ranges come from the Amazon listings for the Aventik and Daiwa, so check the product page before you buy.

Do I need waders for trout fishing?

Not always. In warm weather you can wet wade in shorts and wading shoes, and from a bank or a boat you may not need to wade at all. Cold water, deeper water and long days are where waders earn their keep. Our wet wading guide covers the no-waders route.

Is there a fly fishing kit that includes everything for trout?

Kits exist, and some include rod, reel, line, backing and leader. Our starter kits list applies a written rule to the kits on Amazon US. This page is for people who would rather pick the pieces separately.

Did you test this gear?

No. We read maker pages and Amazon listings, mark where each value came from, and apply a written rule. The verdicts are summaries of the specs, not field reports.

Sources

  1. Aventik: FLK fly reel — accessed 2026-10-15
  2. Aventik: Automatic fly reel — accessed 2026-10-15
  3. Bassdash: FW08 Breathable Chest Wader — accessed 2026-10-15
  4. Bassdash: Waders sizing guide — accessed 2026-10-15
  5. Compass 360: Deadfall STFT Wader — accessed 2026-10-15
  6. Cortland: Competition MKII Nymph rods — accessed 2026-10-15
  7. Echo: Base reel — accessed 2026-10-15
  8. Galvan: Brookie fly reel — accessed 2026-10-15
  9. Hardy: Aydon single handed rod — accessed 2026-10-15
  10. Orvis: Men's Clearwater Waders — accessed 2026-10-15
  11. Paramount Outdoors: Emerger Stockingfoot Hipper — accessed 2026-10-15